(Proposal) First A Manifesto (revised)

Dear community – all of whom are thinking about Independence:

I have been thinking a lot about this idea of a constitution, as well as what a manifesto is in relation to governance, and I humbly submit my ideas here. I am new to NEAR, though I have met wonderful people who have encouraged me to share my thoughts. I also recognize that there are MANY beautiful writing and vision statements that have already been written that should not be overlooked in this process – yet, we should not “re-use” content only, we need to be sure the entire community has a voice in the process.

For transparency, I am the co-founder of Rising DAO – we are focused on Content Innovation here on NEAR, and will be developing research, content, media and programs that explore and amplify artists and creatives here on the Blockchain. We believe that the 2.2 trillion dollar Creative Economy is emerging as a superpower through DAOs and the Blockchain. My info is also here: www.sarahkornfeld.net

But, the main point I want to make is that – A constitution by any other name is Your Heart. Let me explain:

I.

What’s the heart of a constitution?

Classically speaking, a constitution is created to explain, both practically and emotionally, the philosophical idea of a nation. Its primary responsibility is to bind people through a coherent body of fundamental principles according to which a state or other organization is acknowledged to be governed. Most critically, it acts as connective tissue for the deeply human desire for selfhood. So, core to the development of a constitution, one hopes, lives the belief that all cultures, all governance, are connected through a shared humanity. Therefore, the question of governance here on NEAR poses an interesting opportunity and challenge: How do we address the human beings on the platform, their rights, and dreams, with the technology being an infrastructure that supports our freedoms?