Proposal: Increase validator stake decentralization by reordering locked tokens to another validators

I’m a winner of “Stake Wars III” and currently I’m a chunk only producer for a month.
There are some questions about validators economy and getting profit for validation in mainnet or at least breakeven point.

As I remember one of the Stake Wars targets is increase decentralization but we see that top 10 validator pool keep about 38% total stake.

Also we see a message which addressed to personal holders to stake

But also we see that lots of delegators of top-10 validators are smart contracts *****.lockup.near

I suppose that NF knows majority of owners of this contracts and NF has opportunity to influence on owners to distribute delegations to different validators. It could support network decentralization and small validators.

9 Likes

I think this could be great. Why?

• Big lockup accounts are most for VCs, grantees and founders. This can be an opportunity to support this small projects. Small projects can give tokens or any other digital asset to support delegators.
  • NF can prepare a pitch event where small validators can present to this lockup accounts holders.
2 Likes

This could be a good first step, but It will always depend on the good will of this accounts.

Anyway I think that a more formal way (a smart contract) that enforces/incentivizes decentralization is really needed, just like the mentioned Alan’s proposal or equivalent. BUT probably this will need to be set up at the protocol level and implies a serious change and auditing to the pool factory code, so it will be difficult to move fast with such a change.

So, as a short term solution it may be feasible, and as Alan mentioned it may introduce Chunk producers to other (funded) projects in the ecosystem and get some attention (and tokens :slight_smile: ) from them !

1 Like

What we can do to run process?

Thanks for your proposal.