Berth DAO Introduction

Hello Near Neighbors,

My name is wana. I am an artist and activator living in the Bay Area. I have also served as a community birthworker, herbalist, and ceremony holder. As a multimodal healing practitioner I have noticed there are many gaps between the traditional visual arts and healing arts and I want to build bridges between these spaces.

As a DAO, we see a world where healing practices - the processes that build them to their fruition - are recognized as are and held in the same esteem as high art/fine art, products and productivity. There are many ways that arts - practices of synthesis and expression - become a tool of healing, and thusly could be integrated into spaces with healing practitioners more visibility. Currently, the rendering of productivity within craft has become decontextualized into its own “product” for audiences to digest as entertainment, rather than as a way to pursue deeper relationship or understanding with the work and/or its creator. In order to truly serve and elevate artists we must share focus and invest sustainably and regeneratively.

While there are opportunities for visual and craft artists to sell their wares in permanent listings or through “pop-up” events rarely are these spaces adapted to support the marketing of contract and service-based workers (i.e. photographers, massage therapists, musicians, etc.) - and the clients looking for them. Service based and healing workers often spend hours completing their pieces and refining their tasks, in isolation and unsupported. Our goal is to build community and infrastructure around these tasks – this space can be a place where we showcase, support growth and community collaboration.